Ecumenical Ministries

The Ecumenical Ministries Committee is the only multi-denominational standing committee in the Conference. People from both the Indiana Region of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and the Indiana-Kentucky Conference UCC are delegated to discuss activities that we could collaborate on and about our life together. The committee members are committed to discerning ways the churches/denominations can work together.

This group awards the Ecumenical Church of the Year award to one UCC congregation from our Conference and one DOC congregation from the Indiana Region. The criteria calls for congregations that have demonstrated behavior that lifts up working with other congregations of other denominations, "that they may all be one."

The committee also supports the International Day of Prayer for Peace which falls on Sept. 21 each year and has some oversight over campus ministries (ICUMHE).

Recent conversations amongst the committee have included: planning for an event about interfaith dialogue between Christians, Jews and Muslims; the ecological impact of biomass in Indiana; a fast day for the poor; and religious involvement in public events.